Find news and information about the latest advances in technology, news and multimedia on the Internet, telecommunications, wireless devices & applications, electronics, smartphones, tablets, ultrabooks, computers, e-mail and the Web.


A number of Samsung smartphones have been found to be vulnerable to a remote factory reset, according to details surfacing today. The hack, which was detailed at a recent Ekoparty security conference, shows that the Galaxy S3 is susceptible to the simple reset.

As Slashgear tells us, the process can be enabled in multiple ways, including NFC, QR code, or pushed from a Web site. Once initiated, the factory wipe cannot be canceled or undone. What’s more, the user will not receive any advance warning or opportunity to take preventative measures. And, as if that weren’t bad enough, it’s also possible for the bad guys to kill the handset’s current SIM card.

The current, yet unofficial, list of devices affected by the potential exploit is said to include the Galaxy BeamS AdvanceGalaxy Ace, and Galaxy S II. Each of these runs a version of Android with Samsung’s own TouchWiz user interface. For what it’s worth, the stock Android experience that comes with the Galaxy Nexus does not appear to be vulnerable.

Until Samsung recognizes the vulnerability and deploys a patch, users are advises to take a few precautions. For instance, don’t click on any Web sites or links that you don’t fully trust. Going further, now would be a good time to disable automatic loading of links from your NFC or QR code readers.

credit: cnet.com

Comments on: "Various Samsung handsets open to remote wipe hack" (28)

  1. A powerful share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing slightly analysis on this. And he in reality bought me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If attainable, as you grow to be expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It’s highly helpful for me. Massive thumb up for this weblog post!

  2. I was very happy to search out this internet-site.I wanted to thanks on your time for this glorious read!! I undoubtedly enjoying every little little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  3. Have you thought about adding some relevant links to the article? I think it might enhance everyones understanding.

  4. *Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  5. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you’ve got hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the problem is something that not sufficient people are speaking intelligently about. I am very glad that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing referring to this.

  6. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  7. Hey there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Exceptional blog and terrific design and style.

  8. Keep working ,fantastic job!

  9. Good day! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  10. Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics? Thanks a lot!

  11. I’ve gone ahead and included a hyperlink back to your internet site from one of my clientele requesting it. We have used your site URL: https://teknonuz.wordpress.com/2012/09/25/various-samsung-handsets-open-to-remote-wipe-hack/ and blog title: Various Samsung handsets open to remote wipe hack Technology Buzz to insure you get the proper anchor text. If you woud like to check out where your link has been placed, please contact me at: hisumiki@yahoo.com. Cheers

  12. But wanna input on few general things, The website design and style is perfect, the content is really good. “Art for art’s sake makes no more sense than gin for gin’s sake.” by W. Somerset Maugham.

  13. you are in point of fact a just right webmaster. The site loading velocity is amazing. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a great task on this matter!

  14. I found your weblog site on google and check a number of of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. In search of forward to studying more from you later on!…

  15. Just wanna comment on few general things, The website pattern is perfect, the written content is rattling good : D.

  16. Hey cutie from a teenage girlfan maintain the stupendous work

    • Thanks a million for the comment and please continue to support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website.

  17. Howdy are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • Yes I am using the WordPress platform and you don’t have to know anything about html coding. If you need help, you can contact me at gempean@gmail.com. Thanks for the comment and please continue to support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website.

  18. Just wanna state that this is very useful , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  19. This is just the kind of thing I’ve been rummaging for! Fantastic and thank you!

    • Thanks again for your commentd and please continue to support my effort by subscribing and telling your family and friends about this website.

  20. Rather good article – thanks a bunch!

  21. I simply want to say I’m very new to blogging and site-building and definitely loved this website. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You certainly come with good articles. Thanks a lot for sharing your webpage.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

