Find news and information about the latest advances in technology, news and multimedia on the Internet, telecommunications, wireless devices & applications, electronics, smartphones, tablets, ultrabooks, computers, e-mail and the Web.

iPhone5 Maps


“The iPhone 5 is mostly drawing rave reviews, but one aspect has been universally slammed: Maps

After using Google’s mapping data for five years, Apple went in a new direction with its iOS 6 update to its mobile operating system, which rolled out Wednesday to almost all iPhones. The tech giant partnered with TomTom, Waze, Yelp and others to create its own map, complete with turn-by-turn navigation and a cool new 3D “Flyover” feature.

Most users seem to agree that the new Maps app looks beautiful — but looks can be deceiving. Behind the new facade is significantly less data powering the app. Google’s enormous base of data points have been replaced with Yelp’s far less substantial list, as well as Apple’s own compiled “places of interest” database. In other words, good luck searching for your favorite off-the-beaten-path restaurant if it’s not on Yelp. It appears the the slightest spelling variations  seem to trip up the new Maps app.

Beyond search, iPhone users have already found some giant goofs in Apple’s data. The info on some well-known landmarks is comically off target or woefully incomplete”.

credit: money.cnn.com

Comments on: "iPhone5 Maps" (16)

  1. Hi, I just wanted to say, I disagree. Your article doesn’t make any sense.

    • I welcome your disagreement but you didn’t say why. My question to you, I have an iPhone5 and I stated exactly what the issues were. I completely dumbfounded by your objection to this particular blog. This is a issue that’s widely known and Apple has admitted to it’s shortcomings in reference to Apple maps. Please tell me and the rest of my readers what exactly what you disagree with. Your thoughts are welcomed and important to me and all my readers. Thank you for participating

  2. I savor, cause I discovered just what I used to be taking a look for. You’ve ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  3. My spouse and i ended up being delighted that Emmanuel managed to do his studies through your ideas he made from your very own weblog. It’s not at all simplistic to just be offering ideas other folks could have been making money from. And we understand we have the writer to be grateful to because of that. All of the explanations you’ve made, the easy web site navigation, the friendships you will help to foster – it is all overwhelming, and it’s aiding our son and the family believe that the idea is fun, and that’s seriously mandatory. Many thanks for all!

  4. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would truly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks!

  5. Woh I enjoy your content , bookmarked ! .

  6. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

  7. I didnt expect this, but I like this, found it helpful! Keep up the excellent work!

  8. +1 to that and I learn from amazing community of commenters every single day.

  9. I simply want to say I’m newbie to blogging and actually loved this website. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You surely have great posts. Thanks a lot for revealing your blog site.

  10. I have been surfing on-line greater than three hours these days, but I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is lovely worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the internet will probably be a lot more helpful than ever before.

    • Thanks for the kudos. I’m working diligently to bring you more. Please support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this blog. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

