Find news and information about the latest advances in technology, news and multimedia on the Internet, telecommunications, wireless devices & applications, electronics, smartphones, tablets, ultrabooks, computers, e-mail and the Web.


Flashback was first detected in the fall of 2011, and gained widespread attention in April when it infected over 500,000 Mac computers. The ESET technical analysis, OSX/Flashback: The first malware to infect hundreds of thousands of Apple Mac, (.pdf) describes how Flashback infected computers with Mac OSX, and analyzes the installation component and the library. The malware infected victims in a number of different ways, the first as a fake update of Adobe Flash player. Flashback also used a Java-signed applet and exploited two different flaws in Java, CVE-2012-0507 or CVE-2011-3544, to infect user”s.

This once again refutes claims by some experts that there are no cyber-threats to Mac OS X.  About 56.6 percent of the infected computers, or 303,449, are located in the U.S., while 19.8 percent are in Canada, 12.8 percent are in the U.K., and 6.1 percent are in Australia, Doctor Web said. For more, see the map below.

The Bratislava Slovakia-based antivirus vendor also notes that Mac users often do not take security of their machines seriously, and chronicles the relationship between Apple and Java in the wake of Flashback.

“Some Mac users believe themselves to be immune to malicious software because they are using OS X. Certainly, the malware threats to OS X are less numerous than to Windows, but they are not nonexistent,” the report read. Flashback has not been the only issue for Macs either. Lamadai, MacControl and Crisis have also created issues for Mac users this year. Experts attribute the growing threat of malware for Macs to an increasing payout for attacking the machines.

When Flashback first appeared, Apple had to validate and distribute updates via its updating system, which meant Oracle could not update Java for Macs at the same time as PCs. Often, including in the case of Flashback, the updates for Macs occurred much later.

Flashback triggered another change in the Apple-Java relationship.

“[Apple] registered all the names of the available domains connected to Flashback, including those generated dynamically. Shortly after that, Apple created an update to OS X that detected the presence of Flashback and uninstalled it from the system,” the ESET report said.

With the debut of Mac OS X Lion (10.7), Apple stopped installing Java interpreters by default on its operating system. The report called this “a move that can be seen as reducing avenues of attack. This might also be interpreted as an attempt to avoid the burden of updating software that is beyond its control.”

credit: http://searchsecurity.techtarget.com & pcmag.com

Comments on: "“Flashback”, The Trojan that Surprised “Apple”" (25)

  1. Good info. Lucky me I came across your blog by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve saved it for later!

  2. Keep functioning ,terrific job!

  3. I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for posting.

  4. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? With thanks

  5. hello from across the ocean I’m barbara I’m such a air head but I still really loved your blog

  6. Keep functioning ,splendid job!

  7. Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a totally different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!

  8. wonderful points altogether, you just gained a brand new reader. What would you suggest in regards to your post that you made a few days ago? Any positive?

  9. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you actually realize what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also talk over with my web site =). We can have a hyperlink exchange arrangement among us!

  10. I came here thinking something else, but this inspired me regardless. Enthusing stuff!

    • Thanks a million for the comment and please continue to support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website.

  11. I have to show my thanks to you for rescuing me from this particular matter. Because of browsing throughout the internet and meeting tips which are not beneficial, I thought my entire life was gone. Existing without the presence of strategies to the problems you’ve fixed all through your main blog post is a critical case, and those that would have in a negative way affected my entire career if I had not come across the blog. Your personal competence and kindness in playing with all the stuff was invaluable. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I had not discovered such a solution like this. I can also at this point relish my future. Thank you very much for your expert and effective help. I will not be reluctant to recommend your web site to anybody who should have support on this matter.

  12. The Internets loves you long time!

  13. Wow, wonderful weblog layout! How lengthy have you been blogging for? you made running a blog glance easy. The entire look of your website is excellent, as well as the content material!

    • I’ve been blogging for exactly one year. Thanks for the comment. Thanks for the comment and please support my effort by subscribing and telling your family and friends about this website. Thanks again !

  14. Hello there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  15. As soon as I noticed this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  16. Ditto. Thank you.

  17. I’ve learned result-oriented things via your website. One other thing I’d prefer to say is that newer laptop or computer os’s often allow much more memory to be played with, but they as well demand more storage simply to work. If an individual’s computer can not handle much more memory and also the newest software package requires that ram increase, it may be the time to buy a new Personal computer. Thanks

  18. I just want to say I am all new to blogs and truly liked your web page. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You amazingly come with outstanding well written articles. With thanks for sharing your blog.

  19. I cherished up to you will receive performed right here. The cartoon is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nevertheless, you command get got an shakiness over that you would like be handing over the following. unwell unquestionably come further previously once more since precisely the same nearly very often inside case you defend this hike.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

