Find news and information about the latest advances in technology, news and multimedia on the Internet, telecommunications, wireless devices & applications, electronics, smartphones, tablets, ultrabooks, computers, e-mail and the Web.


Gerard M.B. Pean

Where is all this technology coming from?  Do you have an answer?  I certainly don’t.  My question to you is….  Why have we not figured out how they built the pyramids?  Why are we still baffled about the pictures in the caves and pyramids about flight, space travel and graphics pertaining to planets.  Is there a hidden agenda we are not aware of?  Do you have the answers?  I want and need your participation.  Is there really an area 51 that has been strongly rumored as a treasure trove of alien technology which the U.S. government did not acknowledge until 29 September 1995?  Now pay attention to the following article.

” Humans are working on computerized contact lenses with display technology.

“Some day maybe we’ll have full-fledged streaming in your contact lenses,” said Babak Amir Parviz, an associate professor of electrical engineering at the University of Washington who co-authored a paper describing the computerized new contact lens in the latest issue of the Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering.

Parviz along with an international team of engineers has constructed a contact lens embedded with a tiny LED that can light up when a wireless signal is sent to it.

Parviz collaborated on the device with UW ophthalmologist Tueng Shen and researchers from Aalto University in Finland led by optoelectronics professor Markku Sopanen. Parviz’s group specializes in incorporating miniaturized devices into unconventional materials and has been working on functional contact lenses for a while, he said.

“If we can make very small devices of various sorts, if we have the ability to put them into different materials, what can I do with this contact lens that I stare at every morning?”

The engineers took an extremely small custom-designed LED made with sapphire and embedded it in the center of a plastic contact lens. They also embedded a circular antenna around the inside lip of the lens. A miniature integrated circuit connects the antenna and the blue LED. Using remote radio frequency transmission, the group was able to control a single pixel.

With this setup, a human eye still wouldn’t be able to distinguish that pixel due to the minimum focal distance required to see anything clearly. With that in mind, the researchers created a separate, non-computerized contact lens containing an array of special flatter, thinner lenses known as Fresnel lenses, each less than a micron thick. The array successfully focused light from the LED.

Once the researchers had determined that the experimental lenses were safe in the lab, they tested them on live rabbits. After wearing them for a short period, the rabbits didn’t have any abrasions or thermal burning. “We have been able to build the whole system and test it on rabbits, on live eyes, and show that this works and it’s safe,” Parviz said.

Being able to display information and images directly into the field of vision via contact lens would be useful in a number of ways, according to the engineers. The devices could be used for navigation, for gaming, and even as a way to monitor someone’s health and safety. It could also be a super sneaky way to access info while carrying on a conversation.This early system is still extremely rudimentary, Parviz said. The computerized lens is made from polyethylene terephthalate (PET), a hard plastic that doesn’t allow airflow to the eye, limiting usage to only a few minutes. Although the device could be powered from about three feet away when outside the eye, that distance narrowed to about an inch when the contact was in an actual eye. While a single pixel lighting up could potentially be useful as a warning, without the focusing micro-lenses, the rabbits only saw a blurry shadow.

The researchers are planning to tackle these challenges. They are working on combining the flat micro-lens technology that can focus light with the computerized device in the lab. They would like to increase the pixel count, refine the antenna design, widen the wireless range, and get the components into a softer, more flexible material.

“If we can make them as comfortable as normal contact lenses, you don’t feel you’re wearing them,” Parviz said. Contacts would allow users to take their displays with them anywhere, hands and headset-free, he added. “In a sense, it’s the ultimate electronic gear that is totally unnoticeable.”

Arnaud Bertsch is a microsystems researcher at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) in Switzerland who previously worked on incorporating sensors into a soft contact lens for glaucoma detection. That project resulted in a commercial product now sold by the Swiss company Sensimed.

“There’s still a little more integration to do to have something that can be used as a device for projecting an image onto the retina, but basically the concept is here,” he said of the new contact lens.

Bertsch thinks that it could take 10 years to achieve fully functional computerized contact lens displays, but added that the field has taken big steps forward with help from miniaturization.

“Five years ago, it was something like science fiction. When we started to discuss integrating things into a contact lens, people were laughing,” he said. “Now it’s real.”

Source/credit: http://news.discovery.com

Comments on: "Cyborg Contact Lenses" (71)

  1. Thanks – Enjoyed this post, can I set it up so I receive an alert email whenever you make a fresh post?

  2. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  3. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog.

    I really hope to check out the same high-grade content from you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to
    get my own blog now 😉

  4. Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also.

  5. Hey there, that is a awesome article. Actually enjoyed reading it. Bye Will return asap!

  6. It is so lucky to read your blog,it is full of useful message.I wish we both can do better in the future.It great honour if you can visit our website,and give us some suggession.

  7. I like this web site very much, Its a real nice position to read and find info. “Joy is not in things it is in us.” by Richard Wagner.

  8. Really wonderful visual appeal on this internet site, I’d rate it 10.

  9. Hey there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    • Thanks a million for the comment and please continue to support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website.

  10. Hey sweet heart from a girlreader contunue the awesome website

    • Thanks for the kudos. It’s greatly appreciated please continue to support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website.

  11. great post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You must proceed your writing. I am sure, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  12. I¡¦m not positive the place you are getting your info, but good topic. I must spend some time studying more or figuring out more. Thank you for fantastic information I used to be on the lookout for this info for my mission.

  13. Wow, amazing blog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog look easy. The whole glance of your site is great, as well as the content material!

  14. I haven¡¦t checked in here for a while as I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are great quality so I guess I¡¦ll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  15. It¡¦s actually a great and helpful piece of information. I¡¦m satisfied that you just shared this useful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  16. The Innernets loves you long time!

  17. Hi there. I found your web site by way of Google at the same time as looking for a related subject, your website got here up. It seems to be good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks to visit later.

  18. Awesome info and entertainingly written. Keep up the excellent stuff!

  19. I came here hunting something else, but this entertained me regardless. Entertaining stuff!

    • Thanks again for your commentd and please continue to support my effort by subscribing and telling your family and friends about this website.

  20. Usually I do not learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice post.

  21. Ugens tilbud online never meant to be something which made cash, just like your site or website, but with time people started out almost asking us to do it, they wished to pay back something to the website that got them going in the first place, the nice and makes one feel good that folks like your work, exactly like your site makes myself happy!

  22. Ditto. Thank you so much!

  23. Whats Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & assist different customers like its aided me. Great job.

  24. Would everyone that has been a portion of your program with the beginning thoughts sending me copies with the prior letters? I am signed up now but unfortunately didn’t listen to of the right up until now. A lot of, a lot of thanks in advance.

  25. I got what you mean , appreciate it for posting .

  26. This is a great social network for everyone to profit share and interact with friends family and people you know

  27. I was reading thru and find that the sites content is good and well written. Looks like alot of time and effort has been placed. Keep up the good work. i have bookmarked this website! thank you

  28. Excellent work and a really good information here. Thanks.

  29. This is a cool site over here. I think I’ll visit your website more if you post more of this kind of specific information. Thanks a lot for posting this information.

  30. Only a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding style and design .

  31. I like this information very much. I’m a follower of your blog and wanna say thanks for all the interesting stuff on it. Please take a look at my website also??? Thanks!

  32. whoah this weblog is magnificent i really like studying your posts. Keep up the great paintings! You realize, a lot of individuals are searching round for this info, you can help them greatly.

  33. Thanks for sharing. Great info.

  34. Nice weblog over here! I’ll just wanna say thanks for that. If you like to visit my website check it out! thanks for visiting!

  35. Great post man thanks for the info

  36. Great site. A lot of useful info here. I¡¦m sending it to a few pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you to your sweat!

  37. I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Studying this info So i¡¦m satisfied to exhibit that I’ve a very excellent uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most without a doubt will make certain to don¡¦t overlook this site and give it a glance on a continuing basis.

  38. It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  39. I just want to mention I’m all new to blogging and absolutely savored this page. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually have perfect articles. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your website page.

  40. This is the fitting weblog for anybody who wants to seek out out about this topic. You realize so much its nearly arduous to argue with you (not that I actually would need…HaHa). You undoubtedly put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply nice!

  41. You can definitely see your skills in the paintings you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

  42. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

  43. I’ve been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this site. Thank you, I will try and check back more often. How frequently you update your site?

    • I update on a daily basis. Please support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this blog. Thanks for the comment!

  44. I enjoy, lead to I found just what I used to be looking for. You’ve ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  45. Great site. A lot of useful info here. I am sending it to a few buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you in your effort!

    • Thank you and know that I’m working diligently to bring you more. Please support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this blog. Thanks again!

  46. I was reading thru and find that the sites content is good and well written. Looks like alot of time and effort has been placed. Keep up the good work. i have bookmarked this website! thank you

    Best Sales

    • Thank you for the comment and kudos. Please know that I’m working diligently to bring you more. Please support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this blog. Thanks again!

  47. This web site definitely has all the information and facts I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  48. Nice website over here! I’ll just wanna say thnx for that. If you like to visit my website check out our website to please! thanks for visiting!

  49. You made some decent points there. I checked on the net for more info about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this web site.

    • I greatly appreciate your comment and please support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website. Thanks you very much!!!

  50. I seriously love your site.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you make this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my own personal site and want to find out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Kudos!

    • It’s very easy to build your own website using wordpress.com. If you need help, please let me know and I will be happy to assist. I would greatly appreciate your support. Please subscribe and tell your family and friends about this blog. Thanks!

  51. Excellent info and superbly written. Keep up the excellent stuff!

  52. I just want to say your article is surprising. The clearness in your post is simply excellent and I could assume you’re an expert on this subject it seems. Well let me subscribe to your feed to keep updated with forthcoming posts. Thanks and please continue the enjoyable work.

    • Thanks for the kudos. I will continue to do my best for you guys. Please support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks again!

  53. i just want it

  54. After I initially commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the same comment. There has to be an easy method you can remove me from that service? Many thanks!

  55. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

