Find news and information about the latest advances in technology, news and multimedia on the Internet, telecommunications, wireless devices & applications, electronics, smartphones, tablets, ultrabooks, computers, e-mail and the Web.


What about that new dock connector?
What Apple calls Lightning is a new proprietary connector that’s 80 percent smaller than the old 30-pin connectors. Its main feature: there’s no top or bottom, so you can plug it in either way. The older plugs needed to be oriented correctly.

Apple’s Lightning cable.

Of course, this change means your old cables and things like docks and third-party audio systems won’t work with your new phone (yeah, that’s annoying). To get around that, Apple’s got an adapter that you’ll have to buy (naturally), and it ain’t cheap. It’s $29 per adapter. Alternatively, Apple will sell a Lightning-to-USB cable for $19 and a Lightning-to-30-pin cable for $39. Expect cheaper third-party adapters to surface in the future, but for now your options are very limited.   Apple has found some additional income.  Is this fair?  Tell me what you think!

 

Source/credit: http://news.cnet.com  and Apple

Comments on: "Apple’s Lightning Connector" (20)

  1. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  2. Hiya! I just discovered your web page: Apple’s Lightning Connector Technology Buzz when I was surfing around reddit.com. It looks as though someone appreciated your site so much they decided to bookmark it. I’ll certainly be coming back here more often.

  3. Generally I don’t read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very great article.

  4. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

    • Thanks for the kudos. Thanks for the comment and please continue to support my efforts by telling your friends and family about this website. Thanks again !!!

  5. I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this website. Thanks, I will try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your site?

    • I post everyday. Thanks for the comment and please continue to support my efforts by telling your friends and family about this website. Thanks again !!!

  6. You made various nice points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found most folks will consent with your blog.

  7. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  8. Perfect. Thankyou.

  9. Awesome work over again. I am looking forward for more updates!

  10. I just want to mention I am just very new to blogging and site-building and honestly savored your web site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You definitely have tremendous stories. With thanks for sharing your web-site.

  11. This is a cool weblog over here. I think I’ll visit your website more if you post more of this kind of specific information. Thanks a lot for posting this information.

    • Glad you enjoyed it. There’s a lot more to come. Please support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this blog. Your comment was greatly appreciated. Thanks!

  12. Nice blog over here! I’ll just wanna thank you for that. If you like to visit my website check out our website to please! thanks for visiting!

  13. keep the good work by posting better posts, as you always do. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

