Find news and information about the latest advances in technology, news and multimedia on the Internet, telecommunications, wireless devices & applications, electronics, smartphones, tablets, ultrabooks, computers, e-mail and the Web.


Gerard M.B. Pean

The iPhone 5 launches into a more challenging field of competitors than ever, and to give you some context about the iPhone 5 specifications compared with those of its chief competitors, we put the most important characteristics of each into this handy table.

As we look at specs of the iPhone 5 compared with the Samsung Galaxy S III, Nokia Lumia 920 and Motorola Droid RAZR HD, we can see patterns emerging, such as all the iPhone 5′s competitors have a screen that’s at least 720p (1,280×720 pixels), dual-core 1.5GHz processors, an updated operating system (although that’s debatable in the case of Android 4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich), an 8-megapixel camera and 4G LTE — all functioning as de facto standards in this highest echelon of smartphone goodness.

I thought I was going to see a lot more from the iPhone5.  It was mostly hot air.  Just a bunch of rumors.

Screen Size 4 inches 4.8 inches 4.7 inches 4.5 inches
Resolution 1,136 x 640 1,280 x 720 1,280 x 720 1,280 x 768
Weight 3.9 oz 4.7 oz 5.1 oz 6.5 oz
CPU Dual-core Apple A6 Dual-core 1.5GHz Snapdragon S4 (in the U.S.) Dual-core 1.5GHz Snapdragon S4 Dual-core 1.5 GHz Snapdragon S4
Storage 16GB, 32GB or 64GB, no card slot 16GB, 32GB or 64GB +microSD slot 12GB+microSD slot 32GB, no card slot
Connectors Apple Lightning microUSB microUSB microUSB
Operating System iOS 6 Android 4.0.4 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Android 4.0.4 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Microsoft Windows Phone 8
Battery 225 hours standby, 8 hours talk time (3G) 790 hours standby, 11:40 hours talk time (3G) TBA 300 hours standby, 10 hours talk time (3G)
Camera 8MP, 3264×2448 pixels, autofocus, LED flash 8MP, 3264×2448 pixels, autofocus, LED flash 8MP, 3264×2448 pixels, autofocus, LED flash 8MP, 3264×2448 pixels, optical image stabilization, autofocus, dual-LED flash
Networking Wi-Fi, 2G, 3G, 4G LTE Wi-Fi, 2G, 3G, 4G LTE Wi-Fi, 2G, 3G, 4G LTE Wi-Fi, 2G, 3G, 4G LTE
Price $199 for 16GB, $299 for 32GB, $399 for 64GB; avail. Sept. 21 $199.99 + $35 carrier fee $199 (estimated, launch end of 2012) TBA, launch Q4 2012

Source: Mashable.com

Comments on: "Smartphone comparisons" (25)

  1. I discovered your weblog site on google and examine a few of your early posts. Proceed to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Looking for forward to reading extra from you in a while!…

  2. You should take part in a contest for the most effective blogs on the web. I’ll suggest this site!

  3. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is great, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Smartphone comparisons Technology Buzz .

  4. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.

  5. I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are incredible! Thanks!

  6. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

    • Try using Askimet. Thanks for the comment and please continue to support my efforts by telling your friends and family about this website. Thanks again !!!

  7. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

    • Thanks for the comment, keep reading and please continue to support my efforts by telling your friends and family about this website. Thanks again !!!

  8. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will come back down the road. I want to encourage that you continue your great posts, have a nice evening!

  9. I reckon something genuinely interesting about your website so I bookmarked .

  10. I’ll immediately seize your rss feed as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me realize so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    • Look on the right hand side as you scroll down the page and you’ll see the e-mail subscription box. Thanks for the kudos and please continue to support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website.

  11. Well done. You win the internets for today. Thank you!

  12. The first time in ages that I have tried Dogpile for questions and actually got a useful page. Thanks!

  13. Thanks for the good writeup. It in truth was a enjoyment account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

  14. It’s really a great and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you just shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  15. I simply want to tell you that I’m beginner to weblog and absolutely savored this web page. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You amazingly have excellent articles and reviews. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your website page.

  16. Keep working ,great job!

  17. scblair said:

    Nice! I’m hearing a lot about the Nokia 920, and I think that Windows Phoen 8 will give iOS6 a run for it’s money. I’m not that optimistic about Android though for the forseeable future.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

