Find news and information about the latest advances in technology, news and multimedia on the Internet, telecommunications, wireless devices & applications, electronics, smartphones, tablets, ultrabooks, computers, e-mail and the Web.


Let me start by saying that this sounds like some crazy science fiction story but, lets look at the things that science, technology and medicine have been able to do over the past twenty years.  We have been able to advance by leaps and bounds towards what earlier was thought to be impossible.  We’ve reached the point that nothing seems impossible.  Who would’ve thought that we would have been able to truly treat aids to the point where  a person with this dreaded disease could actually be able to survive and live a long and productive life .  Science and technology is capable of  resolving things that we can only wonder about.

“In a declaration with echoes of Frankenstein, scientists have suggested that electricity could one day be used to regenerate tissue and regrow lost limbs.

Researchers from the Aberdeen University believe electric currents and fields hold the key to major advances in tissue engineering.

In the distant future they may even help people with severed limbs, such as victims of industrial accidents or soldiers, to grow new arms and legs, the Daily Mail reported.

Electrical stimulus has already shown some success in stimulating sensory nerve regrowth in people with damaged spinal cords.

There is also evidence that bio-electric fields play a role in regenerating lost fingertips, especially in children.

However, the importance of electricity in wound healing and tissue repair has been largely overlooked because of its association with Victorian quackery and Frankenstein, according to Dr Ann Rajnicek.

“Electricity is key; its something that has been under-appreciated. But people still think of Frankenstein and the Victorian age. Even when you try to sell the idea to a research funding agency, they say ‘oh no, I’m not sure about that’,” Rajnicek added.

In Mary Shelley’s novel, electricity provides the spark that brings Frankenstein’s monster to life.

Rajnicek’s new research has demonstrated the effect of electricity on flatworms rather than human corpses.

“We’re using flatworms that multiply asexually by spontaneous fission. The worm snaps itself in two like an elastic band so you have one end missing a head and other missing a tail,” she was quoted as saying by the paper.

“We believe the natural electrical field that’s associated with the wounding process acts like a compass to tell cells where to migrate. You get a field that points towards the wound and directs cells there,” she said.

“We’ve also found that there’s a gradient – the electrical field is positive but at the very tip of the head of the worm its much less positive, so the animal has natural electrical polarity. We think the stem cells are being directed to build either a head or tail because one end is more positive and the other end is more negative,” she added.

“When a flatworm is cut, electricity leaks out of the wound – and the same thing occurs in all other animals, including humans. The skin [is] like a battery,” she said.

By reversing the polarity of the electric field at the wound site, Rajnicek was able to produce worms with heads where their tails should be, and vice-versa. Manipulating the field led to worms with two heads or two tails.

“We are still at the early stages, but we want to look at the genes that are switched on or off by the presence or absence of this field,” Rajnicek told the British Science Festival at the University of Aberdeen”

Please comment by telling me what you think.  Do you think this is really feasible or just science fiction?

Source: indianexpress.com

Comments on: "Regrowing limbs with electricity! Is that really possible?" (29)

  1. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

  2. Good web site! I really love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a great day!

  3. Very well written post. It will be valuable to everyone who utilizes it, as well as me. Keep up the good work – for sure i will check out more posts.

  4. Hello there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading through your blog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects? Thanks a lot!

  5. Good website! I really love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

  6. You made some first rate factors there. I appeared on the internet for the problem and found most people will go along with with your website.

  7. This blog has a lot of very helpful stuff on it. Thanks for sharing it with me!

  8. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed isnt functioning today. I tried adding it to my Bing reader account but got absolutely nothing.

  9. This blog has a lot of extremely helpful stuff on it. Thank you for informing me!

  10. Hi there, I found your website via Google while searching for a related topic, your site came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  11. Hey cutie from a girlreader contunue the awe inspiring blog

    • Thanks a million for the comment and please continue to support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website.

  12. Ditto the above.

  13. Hellow my name is Jill and I’m a student and this site really aided me. I’m inspired! Thank you!

  14. First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I’ve had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Thank you!

  15. I have not checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are good quality so I guess I¡¦ll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  16. I just want to mention I am just new to blogging and site-building and absolutely loved this website. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your website . You surely have amazing stories. Thank you for revealing your blog site.

  17. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable information to work on. You have done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  18. A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment. I do believe that you need to write more on this issue, it might not be a taboo matter but typically folks don’t talk about such topics. To the next! Best wishes!!

    • I’m working on a follow-up post in reference to this subject. Please support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website. Thanks for the support.

  19. Great work! This is the type of info that should be shared around the web. Shame on Google for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my website . Thanks =)

  20. What an interesting subject, These comments are becoming out of control!

  21. Hey there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  22. This website is really active, I really loved it!

  23. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this web site. I’m hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a great example of it.

  24. I’m more than happy to find this page. I wanted to thank you for your time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely loved every little bit of it and i also have you saved to fav to see new information on your website.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

