Find news and information about the latest advances in technology, news and multimedia on the Internet, telecommunications, wireless devices & applications, electronics, smartphones, tablets, ultrabooks, computers, e-mail and the Web.


Hey,

Are you worried about cybercriminals getting into personal files and online banking accounts? Imagine if someone could actually extract that information directly from your brain.  Is that really possible?

“Scientists from the University of California and the University of Oxford in Geneva are working on developing technology that could hack or retrieve sensitive data from a person’s brain, such as PIN numbers and place of birth, by using a low-cost device.

With the help of an off-the-shelf Emotiv brain-computer ($299) — a wireless head piece — researchers are able to track brain signals when someone is shown familiar messages. For example, scientists asked subjects to wear the device in front a computer screen that displayed a series of banks, maps and PIN numbers. A specific signal called P300 is omitted in the brain when someone recognizes a message, making it easier for researchers to cut down on random data points”.

“The captured EEG signal could reveal the user’s private information about bank cards, PIN numbers, area of living and the knowledge of the known persons,” the researchers said in a statement. “This is the first attempt to study the security implications of consumer-grade BCI devices. We show that the entropy of the private information is decreased on the average by approximately 15% – 40% compared to random guessing attacks.”Do you think this type of technology would be too vulnerable to hackers and could be used for more bad than good? Let us know your thoughts in the comments.

Source: Mashable.com

Comments on: "Can Scientists Hack Your Brain?" (22)

  1. I’m impressed, I have to say. Really not often do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you’ve got hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the problem is something that not enough individuals are talking intelligently about. I’m very pleased that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something relating to this.

  2. I’m impressed, I need to say. Actually rarely do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you may have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very comfortable that I stumbled across this in my seek for something relating to this.

  3. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you really know what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally consult with my website =). We could have a hyperlink alternate agreement between us!

    • Thanks for the kudos. It’s greatly appreciated and please continue to support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website.

  4. Awesome writing style!

  5. Ditto the above. Thankyou.

  6. Heya are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

    • Yes I am using WordPress for my site platform. I’m not an expert but I do know quite a bit. If you need help let me know. Please support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this website.

  7. Ditto the above. Thank you.

  8. I just want to mention I am new to blogging and seriously enjoyed you’re web blog. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You actually come with impressive articles and reviews. With thanks for sharing your website.

  9. I came here hunting something else, but this entertained me regardless. Enthusing stuff!

  10. I am constantly searching online for posts that can assist me. Thx!

  11. Im grateful for the article post. Really Great.

  12. Thanks again for the blog.Really looking forward to read more. Keep writing.

  13. Say, you got a nice article post.Really looking forward to read more. Fantastic.

  14. Thank you ever so for you blog article.Really thank you! Cool.

  15. Awesome post.Thanks Again. Cool.

  16. I loved your article post. Fantastic.

  17. Great article.Thanks Again. Cool.

  18. I precisely desired to say thanks once again. I am not sure what I might have implemented without these creative concepts shown by you about that industry. It previously was a scary issue in my position, but observing a new professional strategy you handled it made me to weep for happiness. I’m just thankful for your help and have high hopes you know what a powerful job your are putting in educating some other people all through a web site. Most likely you have never come across any of us.

    • I’m glad to have made a good impression through my work. I look forward to providing a whole lot more. Please subscribe and tell your friends about this site.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

