Find news and information about the latest advances in technology, news and multimedia on the Internet, telecommunications, wireless devices & applications, electronics, smartphones, tablets, ultrabooks, computers, e-mail and the Web.


Gerard M.B. Pean

Just how many tentacles does Google have.  They are involved in evertything that the consumer could possibly see or want when it comes to technology.  Now it’s the auto industry.  Without a doubt they are sure to remain at the forefront of  future technological feats.   Quite a few fans are waiting for Apple to go after Google like they did with Samsung.  Wake up folks!!!!!  That will never happen.  Google is just too well positioned and too smart.

“Google announced that its self-driving cars have completed 300,000 miles of test-drives, under a “wide range of conditions,” all without any kind of accident. (The project has seen a few accidents in the past — but only with humans at the wheel.)

To put that into perspective, the average U.S. driver has one accident roughly every 165,000 miles. Here’s how we got that figure: our average mileage per year is 16,550, according to the Federal Highway Administration; the average length of time we go between traffic accidents is 10 years, according to Allstate. (In particularly safe cities such as Fort Collins, Colo., that number can rise to 14 years — which is still no match for Google’s 300,000 miles.)

SEE ALSO: Google to Test Driverless Cars on Nevada Roadways

The Google project uses Toyota Priuses equipped with a range of cameras, radar sensors and laser range-finders to see other traffic; sophisticated software uses Google Maps to navigate routes. A pair of human drivers are always in the cars, ready to take over in case of any malfunction, although Google says it will now start using just one human per car. The company also just added a Lexus RX450h to its Prius fleet (see picture above).

In the past, the project says its robot cars have driven from the Googleplex in Silicon Valley to Santa Monica in LA, gone “down [San Francisco’s famously twisty] Lombard Street, crossed the Golden Gate bridge, navigated the Pacific Coast Highway, and even made it all the way around Lake Tahoe” — and that was all announced two years ago.

SEE ALSO: Tackling Self-Driving Cars’ Biggest Questions [VIDEO]

So Google has good reason to be proud; it is bringing us closer to the day when we’ll be able to sit back, relax and do the crossword during our commute. But the company also admits it has a long way to go.”

“To provide the best experience we can, we’ll need to master snow-covered roadways, interpret temporary construction signals and handle other tricky situations that many drivers encounter,” writes Chris Urmson, the driverless car team’s Engineering Lead, in a blog post. “For now, our team members will remain in the driver’s seats and will take back control if needed.”  Autonomous cars will most likely become a reality within five years.

I don’t know if you guys are paying attention to the world around you but, almost everything around is being developed with some level of automation.  From cars to homes to workplace.  We are being more closely monitered in everyway possible.  I want you to ask yourselves; Are we headind in the right direction?  What’s your opinion?

Sources: mashable.com  /  googleblog.blogspot.com

Comments on: "Google’s Driverless Car" (14)

  1. I found something similar elsewhere and really found it entertaining. Some more of this please! Thanks

  2. Its such as you read my mind! You seem to understand a lot about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I feel that you just can do with some p.c. to power the message house a bit, but instead of that, that is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

  3. I relish, lead to I discovered exactly what I was having a look for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  4. I will right away take hold of your rss feed as I can’t in finding your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly permit me know in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  5. I have not checked in here for a while as I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess Iˇ¦ll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  6. You can certainly see your skills within the paintings you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

    • Your comment is greatly appreciated. Please support my efforts by subscribing and telling your friends & family about this site. Thank you again!!!

  7. I used to be recommended this website by my cousin. I am no longer sure whether or not this post is written by him as no one else recognize such specified approximately my difficulty. You are wonderful! Thank you!

  8. Woah this blog is excellent i like reading your articles. Keep up the good paintings! You know, lots of persons are hunting round for this info, you can aid them greatly.

    • Thank you, I’m working hard to provide clear and concise info. spread the word and tell your friends about my site. I will greatly appreciate your effort. Please let me know if there’s a specific subject that you would like for me to write about. Please subscribe. Thanks again!!!

  9. I’ve learn a few just right stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you set to create this kind of excellent informative web site.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

