Find news and information about the latest advances in technology, news and multimedia on the Internet, telecommunications, wireless devices & applications, electronics, smartphones, tablets, ultrabooks, computers, e-mail and the Web.


Gerard M.B. Pean

 

Your OS or operating system is the glue that binds hardware and software.  Without the operating system your smartphones, PC’s, ultrabooks, laptops, tablets and countless other devices would completely useless. “Your computer can have an expensive motherboard, the fastest processor, lots of memory, and superior graphics, but it is completely useless without an operating system (OS). Every computer must have one. What is the operating system? You can look at it as being the “middle man”. Application software such as a spreadsheet cannot communicate directly with hardware. Whether pressing a key on your keyboard or clicking your mouse, it’s the computer operating system that provides the interface between software and hardware. It handles all of the computer’s resources and has the ability to support devices from many different vendors via device drivers. All these tasks are quietly working behind the scenes without the user’s knowledge”.

Keeping it simple, ” There are four types of computer operating systems: A Real Time OS is for industry and machines. There’s basically no user involvement. A single-user single task operating system is for one person to do one thing at a time. A single-user multitask OS allows one person to run more than one application on a computer simultaneously. A multi-user operating system permits multiple users to access a single computer”.

The three main operating systems being used today  are Windows, Mac, and Linux.  Within all operating systems you’ll find the kernel.  The kernel is the core from which all hardware can be accessed.  It’s “the part that does the invisible work such as allowing user applications access to hardware, managing resources like the memory and CPU, scheduling tasks, and storing device drivers. It is usually the first part of the OS that is loaded after you turn on your computer and it completes the POST (Power On Self Test). If a problem occurs at any point when the OS is loading, usually an error message appears on the screen”. Want to know more?  send in your comments!
 

Sources:

http://www.bukisa.com/articles/707272_operating-systems-tutorial

http://pasig.olx.com.ph/operating-systems-free-tutorial-iid-410752095

Comments on: "Your Operating Systems" (26)

  1. Hello there, simply changed into alert to your weblog thru Google, and found that it is really informative. I am going to be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciate should you continue this in future. A lot of folks will likely be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    • Thank you. I’m working hard to make my readers happy. Please support my efforts by subscribing and tell your friends and family about this blog. Thanks again!!!

  2. Great website. Plenty of useful info here. I am sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks for your sweat!

  3. I really enjoy the blog. Awesome.

  4. Great, thanks for sharing this post. Want more.

  5. I do not even know how I finished up right here, however I thought this publish was once great. I don’t understand who you might be but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger for those who aren’t already. Cheers!

  6. I truly appreciate this blog post.Really looking forward to read more.

  7. Appreciate you sharing, great article.Really thank you! Fantastic.

    • I’m glad to be of help. Please subscribe and tell your friends and family about this site. I need your your support. Thanks again for you comment

  8. hello! i wanted to thank you for this great read!! i am definitely enjoying every little bit of it i have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

    • I’m glad to have been able to provide you with some good info. I look forward to providing a lot more. Please support me by subscribing and telling your friends and family about this site. Your comment was truly apprediated. Thanks again!!!

  9. Major thanks for the blog post.Much thanks again. Really Cool.

  10. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. This is a very well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your helpful information. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    • Thank you and I really hope that you do come back. I have a lot more to offer. Please subscribe to this blog and tell your friends about me. Thanks again!!!

  11. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really loved surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write once more very soon!

  12. I am so grateful for your post.Much thanks again.

  13. I have been browsing online more than three hours today, but I never discovered any fascinating article like yours. It’s pretty price enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the web will be much more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

